Tag: 2009

Koneyn – Transitional

“Transitional” is Koneyn’s debut solo release for Serbian label Àsino Elettronico and follows two self-released EPs – “Stormfields” and “Enclosed” – both issued during 2008. Released digitally and also as a limited pre-order edition in nicely produced handmade packaging, “Transitional” consists of five fairly short tracks covering a 20-minute duration.

Sonarophon – De Frie Elementer

“De Frie Elementer” is a live recording of guitarist Alf Terje Hana and vocalist Line Horneland performing as Sonarophon. Composed around a core of experimental and ambient electronics, their set features the six string skills of Hana combined with the vocal yet wordless voice techniques of Horneland. “De Frie Elementer” is comprised of a single 24-minute track split into a number of linked elements.

tokee – Quintuplet

With “Quintuplet” tokee not only delivers five fresh tracks, but also a sizeable selection of top-notch remixes; a limited release that, thankfully, plays like a brand new full-length. From 4/4 thumpers splattered with breaks and glitch to coasting and fluid downtempo groovers, tokee’s flawless production and innate sense of tempo render “Quintuplet” a powerhouse of swirling layers and solid beats.

Kommando – Crimefactory

Kommando is the first project of Daniel Hofmann, a.k.a. Anton Knilpert/Dan Courtman, who has a hand in the work of virtually all the artists on the UMB label, Dogpop, Jägerblut, Kommando, The Musick Wreckers, Thorofon, UMB-Kollektif and more. The material gathered here is from 1993-98, and was ‘re-constructed’ (or re-animated?) in 2008.